Meet the Church Board

Acts 20:28
Pay careful attention to yourselves and to all the flock, in which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers, to care for the church of God, which He obtained with His own blood.

Our Church Board represents the leadership of our congregation; this includes women and men. They meet monthly and provide overall care, direction, guidance, coordination, and decision making for the total program of the church and assist in the serving of The Lord’s Supper (communion).

The board is comprised of four officers (Moderator, Vice-Moderator, Church Clerk, and Treasurer) as well as the chairpersons of several designated committees. These dedicated and hard-working leaders serve three-year terms. Our pastors also serve on the board, but they are non-voting members.

Our current Church Board members appreciate your support and prayers as they seek to be effective leaders and, importantly, to understand God’s will for First Baptist Church of Bloomington!


  • Mary Jo Douglass Moderator

  • Al Strauch Vice Moderator

  • Glen Wetzel Treasurer

  • Joyce Topping Church Clerk

Committee Chairpersons

  • Joan Leitzen ABWM Representative

  • Lesley Sutton Christian Education Co-Chair

  • Nathan Jennings Christian Education Co-Chair

  • Jan Hazekamp Church Growth

  • Beverly Jennings Family Care Co-Chair

  • Becky Strack Missions

  • David Greenfield Pastoral Relations

  • Aaron Haning Stewardship

  • Rich Clemmons Personnel

  • Nick Rude Trustees

  • Joyce Benton Worship